Menu>Exhibitions, Past
DE
X
X
Menu>Newsletter

At Work

Studio and Production as a Subject of Today’s Art

This exhibition was conceived as an essay and dealt with the way in which consideration of the making and places of art is reflected in the artworks themselves.

Kathrin Sonntag, Blame it on Morandi, 2008, Courtesy the artist and Kamm Gallery

In the history of art, the studio was the traditional place in which artworks were produced, subsequently to be released into the world as transportable objects: into galleries, museums and private collections. At the same time this “order” of places and their functions corresponded to the unity of author and artwork, a stylistic and genre-specific identity.

There are no longer any fixed orders and attributions in today’s art production. Concept Art has no uniform style; artisan production is delegated, and playful and associative strategies now create manifold constellations of references. The function of the studio has become more relative in this context.

Interestingly, in the current “crisis” of the studio the art-historical genre of the studio picture is entering into many artists’ horizons, once again becoming a symbolic “motif”, often with a melancholy or ironic undertone. Meanwhile, there is reflection on the production of art in other places. This exhibition is conceived as an essay and deals with the way in which consideration of the making and places of art is reflected in the artworks themselves. 20 international artists will be showing works or working contexts from the last 15 years as well as works newly produced on the occasion of the exhibition, which focus on questions of authorship, the finding of ideas, style, participation, and the relations of the studio and public exhibition locations.

It is the “shadows” of art – based on a formulation by Roland Barthes –, which are finding their way here into the artwork itself.

With contributions by
Pawel Althamer
Tacita Dean
Katharina Grosse
Bruno Jakob
Christian Jankowski
Yuri Leiderman
Rita McBride
Mai-Thu Perret
Hermann Pitz
Sarah Rossiter
Giorgio Sadotti
Karin Sander
Adrian Schiess
Paul Sietsema

Deb Sokolow
Kathrin Sonntag
Annika Ström
Elizabeth Wright
Andrea Zittel
Artur Zmijewski
 

Curators: Eva Schmidt and Roman Kurzmeyer

Supported by: the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, Kunststiftung NRW, the foundation Kunst, Kultur und Soziales of the Sparda-Bank West, Pro Helvetia, the Circle of Friends of the Museum für Gegenwartskunst

Menü>Ausstellungen, Rückblick
EN
X
X
Menü>Newsletter

At Work

Atelier und Produktion als Thema der Kunst heute

Die als Essay konzipierte Ausstellung handelte davon, wie das Nachdenken über das Kunstmachen und über die Orte der Kunst in Kunstwerken selbst reflektiert werden.

Kathrin Sonntag, Blame it on Morandi, 2008, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Galerie Kamm

In der Geschichte der Kunst war das Atelier der traditionelle Ort, an dem Kunstwerke hergestellt wurden. Anschließend wurden sie als transportable Objekte in die Welt entlassen, in die Galerien, Museen und Privatsammlungen. Diese „Ordnung“ der Orte und ihrer Funktionen entsprach gleichzeitig eine Einheit von Autor und Kunstwerk, eine stilistische und gattungsspezifische Identität.

Die fixen Ordnungen und Zuordnungen gibt es in der heutigen Kunstproduktion nicht mehr. Die konzeptuelle Kunst kennt keinen einheitlichen Stil; handwerkliche Produktion wird delegiert, stattdessen erzeugen spielerische und assoziative Strategien vielfältige Verweisungsgefüge. Die Funktion des Ateliers wird in diesem Zusammenhang relativiert.

Interessanterweise gerät in der aktuellen „Krise“ des Ateliers das kunsthistorische Genre des Atelierbildes in das Blickfeld der Künstler. Es wird wieder zum sinnbildlichen „Motiv“, oft mit melancholischem oder ironischem Unterton. Gleichzeitig wird die Produktion von Kunst an anderen Orten reflektiert. Die als Essay konzipierte Ausstellung handelt davon, wie das Nachdenken über das Kunstmachen und über die Orte der Kunst in Kunstwerken selbst reflektiert werden. 20 internationale Künstler und Künstlerinnen zeigen Arbeiten bzw. Arbeitszusammenhänge aus den letzten 15 Jahren sowie für den Anlass der Ausstellung neu entstandene Arbeiten, die Fragen zu Autorenschaft, Ideenfindung, Stil, Partizipation, Beziehung von Atelier und öffentlichen Ausstellungsorten umkreisen.

Es sind die „Schatten“ der Kunst – in Anlehnung an eine Formulierung von Roland Barthes –, die Eingang finden in das Kunstwerk selbst.

Mit Beiträgen von
Pawel Althamer
Tacita Dean
Katharina Grosse
Bruno Jakob
Christian Jankowski
Yuri Leiderman
Rita McBride
Mai-Thu Perret
Hermann Pitz
Sarah Rossiter
Giorgio Sadotti
Karin Sander
Adrian Schiess
Paul Sietsema

Deb Sokolow
Kathrin Sonntag
Annika Ström
Elizabeth Wright
Andrea Zittel
Artur Zmijewski

KuratorInnen: Eva Schmidt und Roman Kurzmeyer

Gefördert durch: Land Nordrhein-Westfalen, Kunststiftung NRW, Stiftung Kunst, Kultur und Soziales der Sparda-Bank West, Pro Helvetia – Schweizerische Kulturstiftung, Freundeskreis des Museums für Gegenwartskunst Siegen