Menu>Exhibitions, Past
DE
X
X
Menu>Newsletter

Francis Bacon

In the Mirror of Photography

Studiolo

The current Studiolo presentation marks the new acquisition of the painting “Turning Figure” from 1963 by the 3rd Rubens Prize winner, Francis Bacon.

Francis Bacon, Turning Figure, 1963
The Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection, MGKSiegen, © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All rights reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

The new acquisition of the painting “Turning Figure” from 1963 by the 3rd Rubens Prize winner Francis Bacon marks the occasion for the current Studiolo presentation.

With a total of seven exemplary works by Bacon in the Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection, the painting “Turning Figure” opens up an additional perspective in Bacon’s artistic œuvre. In connection with the latest research on Bacon’s pictorial sources, expanded interpretation possibilities arise.

It is a street scene. A figure is turning around, looking back at something that remains invisible around the corner of a house; the event is indicated, however, by the eerie stream of a white mass on the pavement. Mysterious though this work may be at first glance, it prompts us to take a closer look. In this context, in particular the view into Bacon’s studio in London’s Reece Mews offers a proverbial look behind the scenes: There, the colourful, ankle-deep chaos of battered books, colour-smeared photographs and newspaper fragments proves itself an overflowing storehouse of information, which has been organised and made available for Bacon research in recent years. Here, it is possible to trace which books and magazines Bacon owned and read. Even more interestingly, among the pictorial sources are the countless photographs and illustrations that were later incorporated directly into his painting.

Several of these sources make “Turning Figure” talk. Not only the historical place in the human abysses of the 20th century becomes clear, but also Bacon’s work process. Two other paintings from the Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection, the studies after Diego Velázquez’s famous portrait of the Pope, are also included in this examination of Bacon’s pictorial inventory.

The Studiolo presentation is being developed jointly by Christian Spies, curator of the Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection, and Bacon specialist Katharina Günther. Ms Günther has been researching the pictorial sources in Bacon’s studio over recent years and has now published her findings.

3 Works in the collection

Menü>Ausstellungen, Rückblick
EN
X
X
Menü>Newsletter

Francis Bacon

Im Spiegel der Fotografie

Studiolo

Anlass für die aktuelle Studiolo Präsentation ist der Neuerwerb des Gemäldes „Turning Figure“ von 1963 des 3. Rubenspreisträgers Francis Bacon.

Francis Bacon, Turning Figure, 1963
Sammlung Lambrecht-Schadeberg, MGKSiegen, © The Estate of Francis Bacon. All rights reserved/VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

Mit den nun insgesamt sieben exemplarischen Werken Bacons in der Sammlung Lambrecht-Schadeberg eröffnet das Gemälde „Turning Figure“ eine weitere Perspektive in Bacons künstlerischem Schaffen. In Verbindung mit der neuesten Forschung zu den Bildquellen Bacons ergeben sich erweiterte Deutungsmöglichkeiten.

Zu sehen ist eine Straßenszene: Eine Figur kehrt sich um, blickt zurück auf ein nicht sichtbares Geschehen. Mit einem unheimlichen Strom weißer Masse auf dem Bürgersteig scheint es sich aber anzudeuten. So geheimnisvoll dieses Werk auf den ersten Blick ist, so sehr motiviert es zu einer genaueren Beschäftigung. Dabei bietet vor allem der Blick in Bacons Atelier in der Londoner Reece Mews einen sprichwörtlichen Blick hinter die Kulissen: Dort erweist sich das bunte, knöcheltiefe Chaos aus ramponierten Büchern, farbverschmierten Fotografien und Zeitungsfragmenten als ein überquellender Informationsspeicher, der in den letzten Jahren geordnet und für die Bacon-Forschung verfügbar gemacht wurde. Hier lässt sich nachvollziehen, welche Bücher und Zeitschriften Bacon besessen und gelesen hat. Umso wichtiger sind aber die Bildquellen unter den unzähligen Fotografien und Abbildungen, die direkt in die Malerei eingeflossen sind.

Gleich mehrere dieser Quellen bringen „Turning Figure“ zum Sprechen. Nicht nur die historische Verortung in den menschlichen Abgründen des 20. Jahrhunderts wird deutlich, sondern auch der Arbeitsprozess Bacons. Ebenso werden zwei weitere Gemälde der Sammlung Lambrecht-Schadeberg – beides malerische Studien nach Diego Velázquez’ berühmten Papstbildnis – in diese Auseinandersetzung mit Bacons Bildspeicher einbezogen.

Die Studiolo Präsentation wurde gemeinsam von Christian Spies, Kurator der Sammlung Lambrecht-Schadeberg, mit der Bacon Spezialistin Katharina Günther erarbeitet, die in den letzten Jahren über die Bildquellen in Bacons Atelier geforscht hat und diese Ergebnisse kürzlich veröffentlichte.

3 Werke in der Sammlung