Menu>Exhibitions, Past
X
X
Menu>Newsletter
Rubens Prize of the City of Siegen

Sung Tieu

Without Full Disclosure

Sung Tieu (*1987 in Hai Duong, Vietnam, lives and works in Berlin) will receive the 9th Rubens Prize Promotional Award of the City of Siegen on 30th June 2024. The prize-giving will take place during the exhibition opening at the Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen.

Sung Tieu creates minimalist environments, working with various media such as installation, sculpture, video, photography, drawing, text and sound. Documents, found objects and memorabilia, even down to the interiors of public offices play a key role. Her works are based on extensive research and are often conceived in relation to the exhibition venue’s immediate surroundings and in collaboration with several contributors. Her installations often combine documentary and fictional elements, being characterised by a simple formal language enabling the objects themselves to speak.

Sung Tieu has earned a reputation for works that reflect her own migration experience after the fall of the wall. Born in Vietnam, the artist followed her father, who was working as a contract labourer in the GDR, to a reunified Germany at the age of five. Against this background, her art deals with questions of social responsibility and the impact of bureaucratic power structures and social control. She also examines the global implications of colonialism and the Cold War. The artist concerns herself with the ideological, economic and socio-political structures that determine our coexistence and are manifest in standardisation, measurability and quantifiability. She is interested in the information concealed behind seemingly transparent processes, open data, political news, and everyday objects. The focus is on critical infrastructures determining who and what will become visible.

The exhibition “Without Full Disclosure” across eleven rooms at the Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen brings together over 50 works from the last six years, some of which are being shown in Germany for the first time. It provides an overview of artistic strategies and themes such as the influence of French colonisation on cultural standards in Vietnam and beyond, the use of psychological and acoustic weapons in military operations, and the development of energy infrastructures. The Siegen exhibition will also focus on new works that expand on her current study of the risks inherent in hydraulic fracturing (fracking) in the USA to include German research into shale gas extraction and potential sites for this already identified in North Rhine-Westphalia.

The 9th Rubens Prize Promotional Award of the City of Siegen also includes prize money of € 5,000 and a publication. The eponymous publication “Sung Tieu. Without Full Disclosure” will be published by Distanz Verlag; an over 1000-page artist’s book, it includes an introductory text and an interview with the artist. The book can be purchased in the museum shop.

Biography
Since 2015, Sung Tieu’s work has been shown in solo and group exhibitions worldwide. Most recently, the artist has enjoyed solo exhibitions at Kunsthalle Nürnberg, Monash University Museum of Art (MUMA), Melbourne; Oakville Galleries, CA (all 2024); Kunst Museum Winterthur, CH; MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge, US; Amant, New York, US; Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n. b.k.) (all 2023); CAPC - Musée d’Art Contemporain de Bordeaux, Bordeaux; Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.); Mudam, Luxembourg (all 2022); Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Leipzig (2021); Nottingham Contemporary, UK, and Haus der Kunst, Munich (2020). Her works have been shown at 34th Biennale de São Paulo (2021) and 14th Shanghai Biennale, China (2023). In 2024, the artist will take part in the 15th Gwangju Biennale. Tieu is the winner of the Frieze Artist Award 2021, the ars viva Prize 2021, and the Audience Award of the Nationalgalerie Berlin Prize 2021; this year, in 2024, she also received the Schering Foundation Prize for Artistic Research. She lives and works in Berlin.

Curator: Thomas Thiel
Assistant Curator: Jessica Schiefer

The Rubens Prize Promotional Award of the City of Siegen

Alternating with the Rubens Prize, which is awarded for a lifetime’s achievement in painting and graphic art, the University City of Siegen, in cooperation with the Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen, awards the Rubens Prize Promotional Award to outstanding young artists every five years. Sung Tieu is the 9th winner, following Lena Henke (2019), Vajiko Chachkhiani (2014), Diango Hernández (2009), Peter Piller (2004), Silke Rehberg (1999), Karin Sander (1994), Julia Lohmann (1989) and Max Neumann (1984



23 Events

Menü>Ausstellungen, Rückblick
X
X
Menü>Newsletter
Rubensförderpreis der Stadt Siegen

Sung Tieu

Ohne Offenlegung

Sung Tieu (*1987 in Hai Duong, Vietnam, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) erhält am 30. Juni 2024 den 9. Förderpreis zum Rubenspreis der Stadt Siegen. Die Preisverleihung findet im Rahmen der Ausstellungseröffnung im Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen statt.

Sung Tieu schafft minimalistische Environments und arbeitet mit wechselnden Medien, wie Installation, Skulptur, Video, Fotografie, Zeichnung, Text und Sound. Dokumente, Fund- und Erinnerungsstücke bis hin zu Inneneinrichtungen von Behörden spielen dabei eine wesentliche Rolle. Ihre Arbeiten basieren auf umfangreichen Recherchen, entstehen häufig in Bezug auf die unmittelbare Umgebung des Ausstellungsortes und in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Kollaborateur*innen; ihre Installationen verbinden dokumentarische und fiktionale Elemente

Bekannt wurde Sung Tieu mit Arbeiten, die ihre eigene Migrationserfahrung nach der Wendezeit reflektieren. Die in Vietnam geborene Künstlerin folgte im Alter von fünf Jahren ihrem Vater, der als Vertragsarbeiter in der DDR tätig war, in das wiedervereinigte Deutschland. Vor diesem Hintergrund beschäftigt sie sich in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit mit Fragen nach gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung und den Auswirkungen bürokratischer Machtstrukturen sowie sozialer Kontrolle. Zudem untersucht sie die globalen Verflechtungen von Kolonialismus und Kaltem Krieg. Die Künstlerin widmet sich den ideologischen, ökonomischen und gesellschaftspolitischen Strukturen, die unser Zusammenleben bestimmen und sich in Standardisierung, Messbarkeit und Quantifizierbarkeit manifestieren. Sie interessiert sich für die verborgenen Informationen hinter scheinbar transparenten Prozessen, offenen Daten, politischen Nachrichten und Alltagsgegenständen. Im Fokus stehen kritische Infrastrukturen, die darüber entscheiden, wer und was sichtbar wird.

Die Ausstellung „Without Full Disclosure“ („Ohne Offenlegung“) im Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen versammelt in elf Räumen über 50 Werke aus den letzten sechs Jahren, die zum Teil erstmals in Deutschland zu sehen sind. Sie gibt einen Überblick über künstlerische Strategien und Themen, wie den Einfluss der französischen Kolonialisierung auf kulturelle Standards in Vietnam und darüber hinaus den Einsatz psychologischer und akustischer Waffen in Militäroperationen, bis hin zur Entwicklung von Energieinfrastrukturen. Im Zentrum der Siegener Ausstellung stehen des Weiteren neue Arbeiten, die ihre aktuelle Auseinandersetzung mit den Risiken des Hydraulic Fracturing (Fracking) in den USA um deutsche Recherchen zur Schiefergasförderung und bereits erkannte Potenzialgebiete in Nordrhein-Westfalen erweitern.

Mit dem 9. Förderpreis zum Rubenspreis der Stadt Siegen ist auch ein Preisgeld von 5000 € und eine Publikation verbunden. Die gleichnamige Publikation „Sung Tieu. Without Full Disclosure“ erscheint als ein über 1000-seitiges Künstler*innenbuch im Distanz Verlag mit einer Einleitung und einem Interview mit der Künstlerin. Das Buch kann ebenfalls im Museumshop erworben werden.

Biografie
Seit 2015 werden Sung Tieus Arbeiten weltweit in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt. Zuletzt hatte die Künstlerin Einzelausstellungen in der Kunsthalle Nürnberg, im Monash University Museum of Art (MUMA), Melbourne; Oakville Galleries, CA (alle 2024); im Kunst Museum Winterthur, CH; dem MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge, US; Amant, New York, US; Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) (alle 2023); im CAPC –Musée d’Art Contemporain de Bordeaux, Bordeaux,  im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.); im Mudam in Luxembourg (alle 2022); Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Leipzig (2021); Nottingham Contemporary, UK; und Haus der Kunst, München (2020). Ihre Arbeiten wurden auf der 34. Biennale de São Paulo (2021) und der 14. Shanghai Biennale, China (2023) gezeigt. In 2024 nimmt die Künstlerin an der 15. Gwangju Biennale teil. Tieu ist Preisträgerin des Frieze Artist Award 2021, des ars viva Preises 2021, des Publikumspreises zum Preis der Nationalgalerie Berlin 2021 und erhielt in diesem Jahr auch den Preis für künstlerische Forschung der Schering Stiftung 2024. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Der Förderpreis zum Rubenspreis der Stadt Siegen
Alternierend zum Rubenspreis, der für ein Lebenswerk in Malerei und Grafik vergeben wird, verleiht die Universitätsstadt Siegen in Kooperation mit dem Museum für Gegenwartkunst Siegen alle fünf Jahre den Rubensförderpreis für herausragende junge Künstler*innen. Als 9. Preisträgerin folgt Sung Tieu auf Lena Henke (2019), Vajiko Chachkhiani (2014), Diango Hernández (2009), Peter Piller (2004), Silke Rehberg (1999), Karin Sander (1994), Julia Lohmann (1989) und Max Neumann (1984).

Kurator: Thomas Thiel
Assistenzkuratorin: Jessica Schiefer

23 Veranstaltungen