Menu>Exhibitions, Past
DE
X
X
Menu>Newsletter

Anna Boghiguian

Sometimes unexpectedly the present meets the past

The Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen is presenting the first monographic museum exhibition in Germany with works by Anna Boghiguian (*1946 Cairo, EG).

In her works, the Egyptian-Canadian artist of Armenian origin explores the impact of historical, economic and political events. From a very personal perspective and with deep roots in literature, the well-travelled artist engages with the world’s peoples, cultures, places and major connecting lines. Boghiguian translates her nomadic experiences into artists’ books, drawings, paintings, collages and installations.

The exhibition “Sometimes unexpectedly the present meets the past” at MGKSiegen provides a comprehensive overview of Anna Boghiguian’s work in twelve rooms through ground-breaking spatial installations. In addition, new groups of works dealing with the construction of the Suez Canal and the time of the Spanish flu will be shown for the first time.

Boghiguian is considered one of the most interesting contemporary artists of our time. She has exhibited regularly in international museums and art institutions over the past ten years. Among other things, she took part in dOCUMENTA 13 in Kassel and received – together with other Armenian artists – the Golden Lion in 2015 for her contribution to the Armenian Pavilion at the 56th Biennale di Venezia. In addition, her works have been exhibited at the Sharjah (2011), Istanbul (2015), Santa Fe (2016) and Sydney (2019) biennials, as well as Manifesta 13 in Marseille (2020). Her work has been shown in major solo exhibitions worldwide, most recently in the S.M.A.K., Ghent (2020), Tate St. Ives (2019), the New Museum, New York (2018), Museum der Moderne, Salzburg (2018), Castello di Rivoli, Turin (2017), and Carré d’Art, Nîmes (2016).

“Anna Boghiguian, Sometimes unexpectedly the present meets the past” at MGKSiegen is curated by Thomas Thiel and being produced in cooperation with the Institut Valencià d’Art Modern (IVAM), Valencià, where the exhibition will be shown subsequently. Accompanying the exhibitions, a comprehensive monograph will be published in spring 2022, edited by the MGKSiegen, the Institut Valencià d’Art Modern (IVAM) in Valencià and the Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (S.M.A.K.) in Ghent.

14 Events and 3 Articles to explore

Menü>Ausstellungen, Rückblick
EN
X
X
Menü>Newsletter

Anna Boghiguian

Manchmal trifft die Gegenwart unerwartet auf die Vergangenheit

Das Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen präsentiert die erste monografische Museumsausstellung von Anna Boghiguian (*1946 Kairo, EG) in Deutschland.

Die ägyptisch-kanadische Künstlerin armenischer Herkunft untersucht in ihren Arbeiten die Auswirkungen von historischen, ökonomischen und politischen Ereignissen. Aus einer sehr persönlichen Perspektive und tief verwurzelt in der Literatur beschäftigt sich die vielreisende Künstlerin mit Menschen, Kulturen, Orten und großen Verbindungslinien der Welt. Ihre nomadischen Erfahrungen übersetzt Boghiguian in Künstlerbücher, Zeichnungen, Malereien, Collagen und Installationen.

Die Ausstellung „Manchmal trifft die Gegenwart unerwartet auf die Vergangenheit“ im MGKSiegen liefert anhand von wegweisenden Rauminstallationen in zwölf Räumen einen umfassenden Überblick zum Werk von Anna Boghiguian.  Erstmals präsentiert sie zudem zwei neue Werkgruppen, die sich mit dem Bau des Suez-Kanals und der Zeit der Spanischen Grippe beschäftigen.

Boghiguian gilt als eine der interessantesten Gegenwartskünstlerinnen unserer Zeit. Sie hat in den letzten zehn Jahren regelmäßig in internationalen Museen und Kunstinstitutionen ausgestellt, nahm unter anderem an der dOCUMENTA 13 in Kassel teil und erhielt 2015, zusammen mit anderen armenischen Künstler*innen, den Goldenen Löwen für ihren Beitrag im armenischen Pavillon auf der 56. Biennale di Venezia. Daneben wurden ihre Werke auf den Biennalen von Sharjah (2011), Istanbul (2015), Santa Fe (2016) und Sydney (2019) sowie der Manifesta 13 in Marseille (2020) gezeigt. Ihre Arbeiten waren weltweit in großen Einzelausstellungen zu sehen, zuletzt im SMAK, Gent (2020), Tate St. Ives (2020), dem New Museum, New York (2018), dem Museum der Moderne, Salzburg (2018), Castello di Rivoli, Turin (2017) und Carré d’Art, Nîmes (2016).

„Anna Boghiguian. Manchmal trifft die Gegenwart unerwartet auf die Vergangenheit“ im MGKSiegen wird kuratiert von Thomas Thiel und entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem mit Institut Valencià d’Art Modern (IVAM), Valencià, wo die Ausstellung im Anschluss gezeigt wird. Begleitend zu den Ausstellungen erscheint im Frühjahr 2022 eine umfassende Monografie zum Gesamtwerk von Anna Boghiguian, welche das Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen, das Institut Valencià d'Art Modern (IVAM) in Valencià und das Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (S.M.A.K.) in Gent gemeinsam herausgegeben.

14 Veranstaltungen und 3 Beiträge zum Entdecken