Menu>Exhibitions, Upcoming, Past

Mixed double

The Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection

Marking the award of the 14th Rubens Prize by the City of Siegen, the collection will be presenting selected works by the previous 13 Rubens Prize winners in a large-scale show. In each case, two positions from the Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection will be brought together – sometimes complementary, or contradictory. In the diversity of artistic approaches, contrasts and commonalities in their engagement with motives as well as their artistic statements and painting itself will be clarified.

Since 1957, the Rubens Prize of the City of Siegen has been awarded to European painters and graphic artists in recognition of their life’s work in art. This exhibition focuses on a comparison of the 13 artists who have been honoured since 1957, and whose work has been acquired by the Lambrecht-Schadeberg Collection for MGKSiegen as from the early 1990s: Hans Hartung (1957), Giorgio Morandi (1962), Francis Bacon (1967), Antoni Tàpies (1972), Fritz Winter (1977), Emil Schumacher (1982), Cy Twombly (1987), Rupprecht Geiger (1992), Lucian Freud (1997), Maria Lassnig (2002), Sigmar Polke (2007), Bridget Riley (2012) and Niele Toroni (2017).